640px Emilia Romagna in Italy.svg


The territory of Emilia Romagna consists of a wide plain south of the Po river, and a more mountainous area near the border with Tuscany, with the peak of Monte Cimone (2165 m). The area historically called Emilia is to the west and includes the provinces of Piacenza, Parma, Reggio Emilia, Modena, Ferrara and the western part of the province of Bologna, whereas its eastern part, with the provinces of Ravenna, Rimini and Forlì - Cesena is called Romagna. Within Emilia Romagna is also the independent republic of San Marino, the most ancient republic in Europe, with a population of about 26,000 inhabitants, whose economy is mostly based on agriculture, tourism and the issue of stamps and coins.